Since no one asked//25 questions for a New Yorker.

new-york-city-at-night.325192353_std

I’m going through a period of NYC withdrawal. Don’t get me wrong – I am in love with Paris but being from New York, well, it’s easy to miss and easy to leave. So, here we have 25 wonderful NY’er questions posed to yours truly and answered as honestly as possible.

Who’s your favorite New Yorker, living or dead, real or fictional?

Gordon Gekko. He embodies everything that is right and wrong about NYC.

What’s the best meal you’ve eaten in New York?

Babbo. Transcendant beef cheek ravioli and delicious wine list. Tacos from La Superior. Oh and coffee from Joe’s (in NYC, coffee is a meal).

In one sentence, what do you actually do all day in your job?

I am a student of life and food.

Would you still live here on a $35,000 salary?

There’s no where better to live when you are poor.

What’s the last thing you saw on Broadway?

Phantom. Classic. I love me a grand, over -the-top show. It satisfies the little gay man inside me screaming to get out.

Do you give money to panhandlers?

No. I feel like a bad person now that you asked. But you never know what they are going to do with it. I prefer to give back by volunteering.

What’s your drink?

Let’s not talk about that now. I’m hungover from too many martini’s.

How often do you prepare your own meals?

Everyday.

What’s your favorite medication?

Aleve and a Diet Coke. Cures anything from hangovers to, um, what?

What’s hanging above your sofa?

In Paris: photos my friend Natasha took of NYC.

In NYC: prints of Paris, photos of my family.

How much is too much to spend on a haircut?

As long as you look and feel good, priceless.

When’s bedtime?

Weekdays, 1230am. Weekends, no comment.

Which do you prefer, the old Times Square or the new Times Square?

C’mon! Old! New York is about grit and it’s slowly getting away from that. The grime, the grit, the hardships nurture creativity and art and without those things, we wouldn’t have New York City.

What do you think of Donald Trump?

Nice coiff.

What do you hate most about living in New York?

The weird smell in bodegas. Smoke + old fried food + cat + something indeterminable.

Who is your mortal enemy?

The last drink.

When’s the last time you drove a car?

I’m a New Yorker, I don’t even have a license.

How has the Wall Street crash affected you?

I moved to Paris and went to Le Cordon Bleu right when things got bad. It was awesome life timing.

Times, Post, or Daily News?

Times. Always. Especially the food section on Wednesdays and the Sunday paper. Nothing like waking up to find that 10 pound paper and flipping through it with some coffee. Though, I must confess to reading Page Six every now and then.

Where do you go to be alone?

Home.

What makes someone a New Yorker?

Being born here. Duh. (attitude!)

Published by

evakara

this is me

Leave a Reply

