Mara des Bois//Current Obsessions

Le petite berry.
Le petite berry.

Stop me if you’ve heard this one.

I have become obsessed with strawberries. I buy a carton a day and I eat them for breakfast with yogurt and for dessert plain or with a butter cookie and whipped cream (that’s real whipped cream you fool). Now, these aren’t your mom’s berries kids. These are the real deal. Mara des Bois and Gariguette strawberries which are both indiginous to France are some of the best I’ve ever had. Almost a throwback to the days of yore when berries actually had flavor, Mara des Bois are part of my repetoire now; I am rarely seen without these delicate and small berries that walk that fine line between acidic fruit and musky berry. These strawberries have so much flavor for it’s size, you won’t ever wonder why it’s the choice of France’s most popular and best patissiers. There is almost a candy-like flavor to the Mara des Bois and after tasting one you will never ever want to buy another species of strawberry again.

I wish I could share some with you. But I can’t.

xxxx

Published by

evakara

this is me

2 thoughts on “Mara des Bois//Current Obsessions”

    1. You can mail order ‘Mara des Bois” strawberry plants from Wicked Wilds, based in Solana Beach, CA. Just Google ‘Wicked Wilds’.

      Min. order 20 plants. I paid $2.00 per plant. They runner very well so don’t order more than you need.

      Deer got into my plants, so I’m still waiting to taste them! They’re flowering now, and I’ve got some green berries coming along.

      Day neutral, everbearing.

Leave a Reply

