Seasonal obsessions: End of Summer

Heirloom Tomatoes

+

Shishito Peppers

=

a healthy obsession

It’s my favorite time of year for tomoatoes! Heirlooms are running rampant through the green markets and into my tummy. I’ve been eating them for days and I can’t won’t stop. They are in their peak and I love to buy a healthy pound of all sorts of Heirlooms, cut them up into one inch pieces for easy mouth access and then douse them in the best olive oil and sea salt. Simple. It’s a taste of God’s love. My faves are the Green Zebra, The Black Krim and Mr. Stripey. I’m itching for some right now.

My other, total and utter obssesion is Shisito peppers. My mouth is watering just thinking about these scorched beauties. Shishito’s are a Japanese green pepper (not a chili pepper) than are about $6 a pound and worth every. Single. Penny. Did you hear me? EVERY SINGLE PENNY. All you need to do is heat up a wok (or similar pan contraption), let it get hot, pour in some olive oil, let it get hot (but don’t burn it), then saute the peppers on high heat for about 5 – 10 mins until they blister and burn. MWAHAHAHA. Then put the pepper into a bowl and toss with coarse sea salt. Eat with your fingers. Seriously. Just pop them. I’m getting all fuzzy and funny just thinking about it. MWAH.

Published by

evakara

this is me

Leave a Reply

