Booque reviews: on growing (legal) herbs

I’m into lilliputian-gardening this year. Lilliputian in the sense that I don’t have a real garden so I use my windowsill as a substitute. I’ve always wanted to “pick herbs from my garden” to cook with and now I finally can. Gardening is really satisfying, it’s like birthing a child (not that i know, but i can imagine). Plus, growing herbs (the legal kind) is tres simple and easy, even I can do it…ok fine, I read two books to help get me started. The only two people in my family with serious green thumbs is my mom and one of my sisters. The rest of us have been known to murder a plant or two so I needed all the help I can get.

Don’t Throw It, Grow It! is a great and fun read on growing plants for urban dwellers. The premise is that one can uncover the hidden possibilities in kitchen scraps and turn them into plants. Now, this is not for everyone but it’s certainly worth a shot if you’re into composting or being “dark green”, or just curious as to what your new found green thumb can do.

You Grow Girl! is a really stylish, funny and informative book on gardening for city ladies. The tone is “girlfriend conversational” and her instructions and advice is simple and no-nonsense. This book takes you through the very beginnings of finding a space for your garden up until harvest time and how to store your creations in the cold months.

The best way to garden is to put on a wide-brimmed straw hat and some old clothes. And with a hoe in one hand and a cold drink in the other, tell somebody else where to dig.
– Texas Bix Bender, Don’t Throw in the Trowel

Published by

evakara

this is me

Leave a Reply

